Free AI Voice Generator: What You Actually Get for Free
Which free AI voice generators give you a file you can legally publish, which only let you listen, and where Urdu and Hindi support really stands. Limits and prices checked 21 Oct 2026.

Which free AI voice generators give you a file you can legally publish, which only let you listen, and where Urdu and Hindi support really stands. Limits and prices checked 21 Oct 2026.

Most "free AI voice generator" lists quietly mix three different products together: a tool that will play a voice to you, a tool that will hand you a file, and a tool whose file you are legally allowed to publish. Those are not the same thing, and confusing them is how people export a clip, upload it, and then meet a watermark they never saw or a takedown they never expected.
A free AI voice generator does one job: it takes written text and turns it into spoken audio. The interesting part is not that it does this — it is what the free tier actually gives you, which is usually less, and occasionally something quite different, than the word "free" suggests.
This guide sorts the tools by what their free tier really provides, checks every limit against the vendor's own page on 21 October 2026, and gives Urdu and Hindi their own section, because the distance between "the language is supported" and "the language is usable" is widest exactly there.
How this was researched: every free-plan limit, language list, download rule and price below was read from the vendor's own pricing page, help centre or documentation on 21 October 2026. No audio was generated and no hands-on test was run, so this guide does not rank voice quality and makes no claim about how any voice sounds. Where a vendor page did not state something, it is marked as not stated rather than filled in with an estimate.
Ask these before reading any feature list, because most tools quietly fail one of them and each failure has a different consequence.
Can you take the file away? A voice that plays in a preview box is a demo. A file is a deliverable you can drop into a video timeline, a course, or a podcast. A surprising number of popular tools with a free badge cannot export anything at all on the free tier, which makes them free to evaluate and useless to publish with.
Are you allowed to publish it? Free and free-for-commercial-use are different licences. One vendor's free tier says outright that it "cannot be used for any commercial purpose". Another grants commercial use with no attribution and no extra permission, on the same day, at the same $0. One of those two will cost you a client relationship.
What happens when you hit the cap? Some tools stop dead. Some start charging you. Some quietly delete the audio you already made. That last one is easy to miss and expensive to discover, so it appears in the table below.
These are the four tools that hand you a real, downloadable file at no cost. The figures are the vendors' own, read on 21 October 2026; paid prices are the entry individual tier, with annual billing shown where the vendor publishes both.
| Tool | Free allowance | Download on free? | Commercial use on free? | Urdu | Hindi | Entry paid price (checked 21 Oct 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TTSMaker | 20,000 characters a week, 1,000 per conversion | Yes — unlimited downloads, MP3/OGG/AAC/OPUS/WAV | Yes — "no additional permission required", no attribution | Yes | Yes | $13.99/mo Lite ($119.88/yr) |
| ElevenLabs | 10,000 credits a month, 1 credit per character for TTS | Yes — MP3 128 kbps, WAV 44.1 kHz/16-bit | No — no commercial licence; free output must be attributed in the title | Yes | Yes | $6/mo Starter ($5/mo on annual billing) |
| Fliki | 3 credits a month, 5-minute export | Yes — MP3 only, and the audio is watermark-free | No — "Commercial rights" is marked NO on the free tier | Yes — 4 voices, 2 labelled Pakistan | Yes — 13 voices | $28/mo Standard ($336/yr) |
| Google Cloud TTS | 4M characters a month (Standard, WaveNet); 1M (Chirp 3 HD, Neural2, Studio) | Yes — the API returns WAV, MP3, OGG_OPUS, MULAW, ALAW bytes | Not stated on the product pages | Yes — ur-IN only, no Pakistani locale |
Yes — hi-IN |
$4 per 1M characters after the free tier |
Two things in that table are worth pausing on. The first is that only one of the four lets you publish free output without a licence condition attached — and it is not the best-known one. The second is that Google Cloud Text-to-Speech hands you four million characters a month for nothing, but only if you enable billing first, which means handing over a card before you have spent anything.
These are not bad products. They are different products, and mistaking them for generators is the single most common error in "best free" roundups.
| Tool | Free tier | Download? | Urdu / Hindi | Why it is not in the table above |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Edge Read Aloud | Free, no stated cap, no account, no card | No export documented — playback controls only | Yes / Yes | Excellent for hearing your script back, useless for taking the audio with you |
| NaturalReader | Unlimited Free Voices; 20,000 characters a day on Lite Voices | No — the free plan states "Cannot convert to mp3" | Hindi on Lite, Urdu only from Plus | Even paid personal plans are "licensed for personal use only" |
| Murf | 10 minutes of generation, 2 projects, no card needed | No — "The free trial does not support downloads" | Hindi yes / Urdu no | Ten minutes of listening and nothing to keep; Murf's own Urdu page says the language is unsupported |
| Speechify | 10 voices described as robotic, listening up to 1.5× | No — "Offline MP3 Download" is marked NO on Free | Yes / Yes | A listening tier, not a production tier; Premium is $29/mo |
Read that as one sentence: of the eight tools examined for this guide, four let you download a file for free, and three of those four restrict what you may do with it. If your actual goal is a publishable voiceover, your realistic options are narrower than the marketing suggests.
Among the tools checked, TTSMaker is the one whose free tier is unambiguously usable for real work. Its own wording is unusually direct: "Free for commercial use — You may use the synthesized audio for any lawful purpose, including commercial use, with no fees and no additional permission required." It also states that source attribution is not mandatory.
The rest of the free tier is generous in the ways that matter. Downloads are unlimited, and the free converter offers MP3, OGG, AAC, OPUS and WAV. There is no account wall and no card. Both हिंदी (Hindi) and اردو (Urdu) sit in the official language selector.
The constraints are real, and they are about length rather than rights. The weekly allowance is 20,000 characters, and a single conversion is capped at 1,000 characters, so a long chapter has to be generated in pieces and stitched. The free converter carries a captcha and ads, keeps a 30-minute history, and the site warns that the audio file is deleted after 30 minutes, so download it promptly rather than assuming it will still be there.
There is one inconsistency worth flagging. TTSMaker's Pro pricing table lists "Commercial use" among the paid-tier benefits, while the free tool page grants it outright. Treat the free page as the operative public licence, and if a client project is worth real money, keep a copy of that wording with the file. The site also links a separate "Commercial License Terms" page from its footer — read that before you commit a deliverable, because the free tool page and the Pro pricing table do not tell the same story.
ElevenLabs is the tool most people mean when they say AI voice, and the free tier is genuinely generous in a way that is easy to misread. You get 10,000 credits a month, and the pricing page states one credit per character for text to speech, so roughly 10,000 characters of narration every month. Speech to text, sound effects, voice design and three Studio projects are included too, and unused credits do not roll over on the free plan.
Downloads are allowed. The free tier exports MP3 at 128 kbps and WAV at 44.1 kHz/16-bit; the higher-fidelity PCM output and Studio WAV sit on the Pro tier and above.
Here is the catch, quoted from ElevenLabs' own help centre: "The free plan does not include a commercial license and cannot be used for any commercial purpose. If you publish content generated using our Services on a free plan or without being signed-in to your account, you must attribute it to ElevenLabs by including 'elevenlabs.io' or '11.ai' in the title." The first paid tier, Starter at $6 a month, is where the commercial licence begins. On annual billing Starter works out at $5 a month, and the pricing page states that annual billing works out as two months free.
For a personal project, a course, or a video that is not monetised, that is a workable free tier. For anything you get paid for, the free plan is not the right tier. Our ElevenLabs profile covers the wider platform — dubbing, speech to text and the API.
Fliki is the only tool in this set that publishes a genuine Pakistani Urdu voice list rather than a generic "Urdu" label. Its Urdu page names four voices: Gul and Salman from India, and Asad and Uzma from Pakistan. Hindi is better covered still, with thirteen voices across eight underlying speech providers — xAI, Microsoft Azure Neural, Google Gemini Flash, ElevenLabs Multilingual, OpenAI TTS, Amazon Polly Neural, Inworld and Qwen.
The free plan gives three credits a month, which the pricing FAQ describes as five minutes of audio and video content, with a five-minute export cap and 720p output. You can download the audio as MP3, and the Urdu page confirms the free MP3 export carries no watermark. WAV export, voice cloning and commercial rights are all paid features.
Two details to know before you sign up for anything. The free plan's watermark applies to video output, not to the MP3 — so a voice-only project is unaffected. And the pricing page advertises "Yearly 25% off" while the standard annual price of $336 is exactly twelve monthly payments of $28, which is no saving at all. Judge the year plan on the number, not the badge.
Fliki is really a video tool with a voice engine attached, which is why it appears in our best AI video generators roundup as well. The Fliki profile has the wider picture.
For bulk or automated work, Google's Text-to-Speech has the largest free allowance of anything here: four million characters a month on Standard and WaveNet voices, and one million on Chirp 3 HD, Neural2 and Studio voices. After the free tier it is $4 per million characters for Standard and WaveNet.
The catch is procedural rather than technical. "You must enable billing to use Text-to-Speech, and will be automatically charged if your usage exceeds the number of free characters allowed per month." In practice, that means creating a billing account and adding a card before you generate your first character. If you stay under the cap you pay nothing, but you are one runaway script away from an invoice.
The API returns audio bytes directly, in LINEAR16, MP3, OGG_OPUS, MULAW or ALAW, so you can write them straight to a file. On language coverage, hi-IN is well served, with Chirp 3, Neural2, Standard and WaveNet voices. Urdu exists only as ur-IN, and there is no Pakistani locale anywhere in the list.
One honest gap: the pricing, voices, encoding and synthesis pages carry no output-licence, attribution or disclosure terms, and the service's own terms and restrictions URLs no longer resolve. Anyone publishing monetised audio should settle that question with Google directly rather than assuming the silence means permission.
The most useful thing to know before you spend an afternoon is that Hindi support does not imply Urdu support. They are separate voices in separate training sets, and a tool can have an excellent Hindi library and no Urdu at all. Murf is the clean example: its Hindi voice sits in the main language list, while its own Urdu page states plainly, "While we currently don't support text to speech in Urdu."
Here is the verified South Asian picture:
hi-IN and ur-IN. The Indian Urdu locale is well populated, but there is no Pakistani Urdu, which is precisely the accent most readers in Lahore or Karachi would notice.Most of these engines were trained on separate script systems, so a paragraph that jumps between Urdu script and Latin English asks the model to switch mid-sentence. The result is usually not a crash but a tonal mismatch — the English words read with the Urdu voice's rhythm, or a misplaced pause where the script changes.
Two habits avoid most of it. First, split the script by language: write the Urdu passages and the English passages as separate paragraphs, and generate them separately. Second, decide deliberately whether a borrowed English term should be spoken in Urdu or in English, and write it that way. If you want "text to speech" read in Urdu, write ٹیکسٹ ٹو اسپیچ in Urdu script. If you want it read in English, keep it in Latin characters. Either choice is defensible, but leaving it to chance is how you end up with a word nobody expects.
Using TTSMaker, because it needs no account and lets you publish the result.
((⏱️=1000)), where the number is the length in milliseconds and a single pause can be up to 10 seconds. The free version allows up to 50 insertions. Use a break where a real speaker would breathe, and resist adding more.This is a walkthrough of documented features and published limits, not a recorded test. No audio was generated for this article.
Generated audio is a draft, not a finished asset. These are the checks that matter, in order of how often they catch something.
Three separate rights are bundled together in most tool descriptions, and they are worth pulling apart.
Commercial use is permission to make money from the output. TTSMaker grants it on the free tier. ElevenLabs does not. Fliki does not. Google Cloud does not say.
Attribution is a requirement to credit the vendor. ElevenLabs requires that you include "elevenlabs.io" or "11.ai" in the title of anything you publish from the free plan, which is a visible cost on a client deliverable.
Redistribution is permission to hand the file to someone else, or to include it in something you sell. This is the part the roundups tend to skip, and it is the one that bites in agency work.
If a tool's terms are silent on a right you need, treat that as unknown rather than permitted, and get an answer from the vendor before the work goes out.
What is a free AI voice generator?
It is a tool that turns written text into spoken audio using AI, so you can produce narration without a microphone or a recording studio. The free part varies enormously: some tools give you a downloadable file you can publish, some only play a voice back to you, and some allow the file but restrict commercial use.
Which free AI voice generator lets me download the audio file?
Of the eight tools checked here, four let you download audio on the free tier: TTSMaker, ElevenLabs, Fliki and Google Cloud Text-to-Speech. Microsoft Edge Read Aloud, NaturalReader, Murf and Speechify do not. Edge has no documented export at all, NaturalReader's free plan states 'Cannot convert to mp3', Murf's free trial does not support downloads, and Speechify's comparison table marks 'Offline MP3 Download' as not available on Free.
Can I use a free AI voice generator for YouTube or paid client work?
Only if the tool's licence says so. TTSMaker states free commercial use with no fees and no additional permission required. ElevenLabs states the opposite: the free plan does not include a commercial licence, and published free output must be attributed by including 'elevenlabs.io' or '11.ai' in the title. Fliki marks 'Commercial rights' as NO on its free tier. Google Cloud's product pages do not state an output licence at all.
Do I need to sign up to use a free AI voice generator?
It depends. TTSMaker's free converter works with no account and no card. ElevenLabs, Fliki, Google Cloud Text-to-Speech, NaturalReader, Murf and Speechify all require an account, and Google Cloud additionally requires billing to be enabled, which means a card even if you stay inside the free character allowance.
Which free AI voice generator supports Urdu text to speech?
TTSMaker lists اردو (Urdu) in its official language selector. Fliki publishes four Urdu voices, two of them labelled Pakistan (Asad and Uzma) and two labelled India (Gul and Salman). ElevenLabs lists Urdu among its 74 supported languages. NaturalReader only offers Urdu from its Plus tier upward. Google Cloud Text-to-Speech has Urdu but only as the India locale, ur-IN, with no Pakistani locale. Murf's own Urdu page states that it does not support Urdu at all.
Which free AI voice generator supports Hindi text to speech?
Most of them. TTSMaker lists हिंदी (Hindi) in its language selector, Fliki publishes thirteen Hindi voices, Google Cloud Text-to-Speech offers hi-IN, and ElevenLabs, Speechify and NaturalReader all list Hindi. Murf supports Hindi but not Urdu, which is the clearest example of why one language should never be assumed to imply the other.
Is a free plan the same as a free trial?
No, and the difference decides whether the tool is usable long term. A free plan keeps offering the same allowance every month. A free trial is a one-off window: Murf's free tier gives ten minutes of generation and two projects, ElevenLabs' free plan gives a fresh 10,000 credits each month, and Fliki's free plan resets at three credits a month. Unused ElevenLabs credits do not roll over on the free plan.
Are free AI voice generators good enough to publish?
For narration, tutorials, e-learning and accessibility audio, the free tiers produce usable output. What you must check before publishing is the licence, because a technically good file can still be unusable for monetised content. This guide does not compare voice quality, since no audio was generated for this article, so test one short paragraph in your own language before committing a long script.
How do I make an AI voiceover sound more natural?
Shorten the sentences, use punctuation to place pauses, and read the script aloud yourself before generating. If a sentence feels awkward when you say it, it will sound awkward synthesised. Keep each generation under the free cap so the text is not cut mid-sentence, and check proper nouns and mixed-language words in the first ten seconds of the output.
For more on turning narration into finished videos, see our guides to the free AI video generator and turning blog posts into videos. If the plan is a narrated podcast, the podcasting tools guide is the next one to read. You can also browse the wider AI Tools Vault directory.
Get our best AI tool reviews and guides delivered to your inbox each week. No spam, unsubscribe anytime.
Written by
Jawad Fiaz researches and writes practical AI tools guides for AI Tools Vault. For this guide he read every free-plan limit, language list, download rule and price on 21 October 2026 against the vendor's own pricing page, help centre or documentation. No audio was generated and no hands-on test was run, so this guide does not rank voice quality; anything a vendor page did not state is labelled as such.
More reading on guides & how-to
Guides & How-ToWe break down Higgsfield AI's features, pricing, free access and best alternatives, so you can decide if the subscription is worth it for your videos.
Guides & How-ToThe free AI background removal tools still worth using after remove.bg closes in December 2026 — Photoroom, Adobe Firefly, Canva, Clipdrop and rembg, with free-tier limits checked in October 2026.
Six free AI photo enhancers, six different deals. What each free tier really allows, what AI cannot recover, and how to check a result before trusting it.